Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some who believe that countries should be self-sufficient in terms of their food production. In my opinion, I tend to disagree with such a suggestion, due to the potential benefits that the food trade brings to all parties involved. These benefits, including effective allocation of resources, improved political atmosphere, and cultural appreciation, will be analysed below. Food trade maximizes the effective allocation of resources, as it encourages specialization of production. Due to different resource endowments, each country is effective at producing different food items. If they can import, nations can focus on producing their most efficient good, then trade excess items with other countries. Otherwise, nations would need to reallocate resources to produce what they are not efficient at, driving up the costs of production and causing their citizens to suffer from inflated food prices. An example of this situation is the Common Agricultural Policy used by the European Union, which subsidizes European farmers’ food production. If the EU had imported food from more efficient foreign farmers, the subsidy money could be used elsewhere or saved, while food prices are still manageable. In addition, foreign trade creates interdependence between the parties involved. As national leaders must take into consideration the impact of political decisions on food trade and commerce, they are less likely to turn to hostile acts that might provoke animosity and lead to war. Thus, this improves the global political atmosphere. Moreover, speaking from consumers’ perspective, the food trade brings about more diversity and appreciation for other cultures in terms of their cuisine. An example of this is the popularity of sushi and other Japanese rolls in Western countries, giving rise to the Californian roll – a unique food combination that symbolizes the unique, global world we live in today. To sum up, countries should not attempt to produce all food for their entire population, as trade plays an important role in promoting effective resources allocation, global peace, and cultural appreciation.