Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Suffice it to say, that while upbringing is, undeniably, the most difficult part of any parent's existence, it is regarded to be simultaneously the most crucial one as well. Hence, it is widely discussed that all parents should have mandatory training before becoming mothers and fathers. Although I firmly agree with the aforementioned statements about parenting and the intentions behind the implementation of such training programmes, I disagree with the fact, that they should be obligatory. First of all, caring for children is the most important job in the world for any mother and father, for if they cannot raise a noble, caring and hard-working individual why even bother becoming a parent in the beginning? Consequently, it is apparent that upbringing heavily affects a plethora of other elements in life, from education to personal life and socialising. For example, it is evident, that children, who were raised in a non-friendly or abusive environment are more inclined to fall into drugs, crime and poverty. Hence, it is crucial to to instill good characteristics and habits in the child from the early on. Admittedly, even the idea of becoming a parent is quite difficult to comprehend for anyone, let alone the preparation for the completely unknown process, and because of that, there are a variety of organizations that teach future mothers and fathers the basics of parenting, from physiological aspects, like the foreseen labour, to the psychological and behavioural ones. Additionally, there are a lot of books that thoroughly cover many aspects of raising a child, and if future parents are in need of help or advice, they can always reach their parents and friends for proper guidance. Therefore, in some cases, there is no need for training courses. In conclusion, while it is evident that upbringing is a crucial element of any person's life, parenting courses can significantly ease this process. At the same time, they do not have to be obligatory, for the fact that there are other ways to prepare for it.