Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The growing population has become on an unprecedented scale. With developments in the health care sector, and according to demographic statistics, every country has an uptrend in births. Nevertheless, overpopulation has brought immense challenges to the environment, and they are increasingly exacerbating. Every person in this world needs a place to live, and that is a fundamental human right. Therefore, building more houses is necessary. However, it creates an enormous burden on the infrastructure of nature. For example, when constructing houses or apartments, they need to use an excessive amount of land. So, they need to reduce vegetation, cut down forests to make more land. As a result, many animals will lose their natural habitats and eventually disturb the ecological balance. Furthermore, natural resources consumption has increased at a staggering rate over the last decade. A good case in point is fuel usage. According to a research article published by the University of Colombo in January 2021, they had shown that the average fuel consumption of a person had increased 10% with the last year. In addition, they had given red alarm that water consumption has also increased significantly. Thus, Alarmingly, people utilize all-natural resources without considering the future and putting the environment in danger. So future generations will be suffering from a lack of natural resources. In conclusion, although population growth seems to be beneficial to society, it generates a plethora of problems for the environment. Therefore, authorities should tackle those problems before aggravating them. Nevertheless, overpopulation has already become the worst challenge to overcome.