Some people think watching TV every day is bad for children. Others think it is good for developing children as they grow up. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The invention of television has had a far-reaching impact on every member of society, including children. While some argue that watching TV benefits children's development, others worry about its negative impact. Even though a good influence of TV on children surely exists, I firmly believe that the demerits of minors watching TV without any restrictions should be considered, and a prudent approach is required for parents when letting children watch TV. On the one hand, TV can work as an effective means for parents to educate their children. As professional broadcasting systems air educational TV programs targeted at the young age group, they provide various learning opportunities in various fields, namely, languages, maths, and even music. With the help of those channels, TV can be a very skillful teacher, and this is especially imperative for dual-income parents who can hardly look after their children until late at night. In addition, as children are still developing their senses, such as hearing, a joyful learning process teeming with visual and acoustic stimuli can promote their brain functions and neurodevelopment. On the other hand, parents need to be aware of its negative impact as well. If those stimuli accumulate to the level where it harms their sight and hearing sensation, it can lead to potential developmental problems. For example, if children watch TV until late at night in dim light, not only will they suffer from eye strain, but they will also end up wearing glasses from an early age with deteriorating short-sightedness. Moreover, there is a risk of exposing children to specific TV programs undesirable at their age, resulting in a significantly harmful effect on their mental development. A plethora of violent and sensational programs air on TV every hour, and such content can negatively impact children's unstructured self-esteem and moral compasses. In conclusion, despite several merits of watching TV in the aspect of children's development and education, the drawbacks of physical and mental health issues arising from excessive TV viewing cannot be overlooked. Therefore, children should watch TV in moderation for a limited time daily under their parents ' supervision. In this way, children could safely benefit from watching TV.