Write about the following topic: Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measure do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that a hike in gasoline pricing is the best method to solve increasing traffic and pollution issues. I do not agree with this concept and believe other steps including improvement in public transport is vital in improving the environment. Increasing gas prices do play an important role in pushing people away from using their own vehicles. This does affect people's affordability for fuel and results in less transport on roads. For example, in India, the petrol prices were raised in 2019, and as a, result a downward trend was witnessed in the use of vehicles. However, this method alone cannot be effective and it has to be augmented with the other controls to underpin the efforts of reducing commuters. Turning to, the other measures in mitigating the environmental pollution includes the development of public transport. Easy availability and equal access to comfortable public transport will attract people to travel by this mode of transport, resulting in fewer vehicles on roads. For instance, China has introduced a network of rail systems to facilitate its masses to travel to city centres and it has resulted in a significant decline in the use of own cars. Thus fostering public transportation will help in decreasing the traffic and improving the ecosystems. To sum up, while a hike in the fuel cost may impact the traffic density but this is not the best move to be relied upon, however developing better public transportation systems will resolve the issues of traffic and pollution.