Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The modern world is filled with all kinds of temptations, and without applying strictness or self- discipline, people can easily be spoiled and become a burden for society. Unfortunately, people are not born with these characteristics, but they can only gather them by starting training from a very young age. There are two schools of thought about this matter. Many people believe that teachers should be responsible for educating children about self- discipline, while others insist that parents should be the ones in charge. This essay will discuss both points of view and conclude with a personal opinion on teaching self- discipline to children. On the one hand, many people including myself think that parents should take the lead in teaching self-control to children. It is unrefutable that parents have more impact on children compared to their teachers, since children spend most of their time at home and tend to imitate their parents ’ behaviour. Hence, it is parents ’ responsibility to perform good characteristics around their children so that they can follow the right path. Moreover, because children learn discipline from their parents willingly, not by force, it is easier for them to absorb this necessary characteristic. On the other hand, many believe that teachers play a crucial role in educating discipline toddlers. Children tend to listen to bits of advice from their teachers since they have high respect for them. Therefore, this will give lecturers the ability to encourage children to practice the right behaviour. However, teachers also have to transfer knowledge to children to keep up with the syllabus, thus it is extremely difficult for them to balance between educating and teaching discipline. In conclusion, I personally believe that parents should be responsible for teaching children discipline and self-control, since it is more effective compared to teachers.