Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

It is true that some people believe music is a bridge to connect people from different cultures and ages. While I agree music is a form of common feelings expression, people who are older or conservative may refuse to understand music from different cultures. The reason why people feel connected with others from various cultures or ages is that despite the language barrier they can perceive the emotions conveyed by music, such as happiness, sadness or gloom. To be specific, many patterns in melody and rhythms can activate certain areas in our brains, and therefore we will respond to the music with pleasure or excitement. For instance, when people hear a song with fast-paced speed, they are likely to spontaneously dance to it and enjoy the moment together. That is why Gangnam Style is so popular worldwide. However, it’s difficult for the elderly or those who are conservative to understand pop music. They get used to the kind of music they heard when they were young and dislike some new forms of expression like K-pop music. Because of this, those people usually have a generation gap with their children and don’t know how to talk with their younger families. For example, in some immigrant families, parents tend to argue with their children about the music they are listening to due to the fact that children are grown up in new countries and are keen on the music there which is different from those in their previous country. In conclusion, while music is regarded as the common expression of feeling, there are some people who still cannot accept music from other cultures.