Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The modern world is filled with all kinds of temptations, and without moderation or self-discipline, people can easily become overindulged and become a burden for society. Unfortunately, not everyone is not born with the ability to restrain themselves, but they can gather them by being educated from a very young age. There are two schools of thought about this matter. Many people believe that teachers should be responsible for educating children about good behaviours, while others insist that parents should be the ones in charge. This essay will discuss both points of view and conclude with a personal opinion on whom to deliver punishment to children. On the one hand, several people including myself think that parents should be taking the lead in teaching their moral values to the youth. It is unrefutable that parents have more impact on children compared to their teachers since children spend most of their time at home and tend to imitate their guardians’ behaviour. Hence, it is their responsibility to perform good characteristics so that they can follow the right path. Moreover, because adolescents learn discipline from their parents willingly, not by force, it is easier for them to assimilate these necessary characteristics. On the other hand, many believe that educational instructors play a crucial role in instilling a good code of ethics into their students. Since they hold them in very high regard in terms of knowledge and wisdom, the youth is more likely to follow their teacher’s guidance. Furthermore, parents have the tendency to coddle the youngsters too much and can be blind to their flaws. In such situations, the weaknesses of children can only be found and corrected by pedagogues. However, teachers also have to transfer knowledge to children to keep up with the syllabus, thus it is extremely difficult for them to balance between educating and teaching discipline. In conclusion, the notion that parents should be the main disciplinarians in the life of young people instead of educational instructors is something I wholeheartedly agree with.