In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

The practice of working or travelling for high school graduates before entering their higher education is common in some states. The main benefits are allowing young adults to gain more experience in real industry and acquire money before starting their university lives. However, it also has drawbacks such as being a gap year student and some job vacancies that require younger ages. On the positive side, this opportunity allows students to encounter real industrial challenges and learn how professionals tackle them. Pupils mostly learn theoretical knowledge at schools, and there are wide gaps between education and real work problems, thus from these chances they can learn and use them in their future studies at university. In addition, their salary from working can be saved and they can use it for paying tuition fees. For example, universities in the US charge around $150,000 for a whole- year undergraduate program. Thus saving $1000 each month will be helpful to fund their studies. However, leaving a year for internships and being gap year students will cause some inconvenient effects such as the need to readapt upon their starts. Some students may have changed their habits because of their work and they should adapt again in their study paces. Some also need to re-open their books to refresh their memories because during their internships they did not apply all of their knowledge. In addition, gap year also poses risks for some older students. Many companies have set up a maximum age for their recruits. For instance, Unilever opens Management Trainee positions and requires their candidate to be no older than 25 years old. Thus graduates who choose to enter their higher education late will have more limited choices compared to those who directly continue to universities. In conclusion, choosing to work before continuing the undergraduate program, will benefit students to enrich their working experience and gain money. However, being gap year students also possess impacts such as readapting and having limited job opportunities.