In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? And give your own opinion.

Education is important as it creates people become better citizens, get better-paid jobs and understand the difference between good and bad. Nowadays, everyone has equal and equitable opportunity to take full advantage of education, including but not limited to study in foreign countries. There are advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad, which will be enunciated in the following paragraphs. First off, it is undeniable that studying abroad is important to boost the career path. For instance, a lawyer who obtains a law master degree in the most recognized university abroad may practice law in an international law firm. Moreover, study abroad allows us to learn specific subjects which are not familiar in hometown from the best lecture overseas. To exemplify, Indonesia does not have sufficient literature regarding arbitration, thus students prefer to go to the United States of America to obtain such knowledge. On the other hand, study abroad also might cause a number of disadvantages, namely a lot of expenses that must be spent in studying abroad compared to studying in hometown. For example, we have to prepare tuition fees, living costs and accommodation fees for studying and living abroad. Further, only a few of those who have been sent overseas to study would like to return to their hometown. As the consequence, the hometown loses its talent and human resources to develop. Based on the foregoing, we can conclude that studying abroad brings a bunch of benefits but there is a high price of sacrifice that must be paid. I am of the opinion that studying abroad is an extraordinary opportunity that anyone must seize.