In some countries, many more people are choosing to leave nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The number of one-person households is increasing exponentially in developed countries such as Japan and Korea. It is a significant societal change as family members within three or four generations used to live together in the past. However, I firmly believe that this is a harmful development that worsens our mental health and takes away the ability to take care of the elderly. First of all, people become more vulnerable to mental illness when they live on their own. People, especially young ones, are busy and have to face lots of pressure every day. When they have no one to share their thoughts and feelings, it can spiral down to depression and even suicide. Thus, living alone takes a tremendous toll on our mental healths. Moreover, the elderly suffer from various issues when they live alone, either with or without stable incomes. In Korea, older people are often not financially supported by the government. And, it is not uncommon to see Korean grandmas have to collect trash all day to feed themselves. While in Japan, where older adults have sufficient savings, they may pass away alone for months before anyone notices. Hence, the increasing trend of living alone is doing more harm than good for the older generation, who have already sacrificed a lot for us. In a nutshell, as a one-person household leading to mental health illness and neglecting of the old generation, it is not a social improvement. In the future, the government should decentralize the workforce so that people do not have to live away from their family members. They can also promote share houses or other community-based living styles, so we people can live and take care of others.