Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Every country has a number of ancient buildings that represent its history. Most of them are inserted into the UNESCO's World Heritage List and protected. However, a segment of society is convinced that governments should demolish old buildings and erect modern ones. I personally do not agree with this opinion because ancient dwellings have a significant role to play in today's society. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence with, old buildings portray certain historic events and cultures. If these buildings are knocked down, there would be no more visual representation of a nation's history. Secondly, historic buildings can become a source of income for a country. More specifically, ancient sightseeings attract thousands of tourists every year. Take, for instance, Samarkand. The tourism sector yields a significant portion of the national income. Additionally, increased tourist demand means more employment opportunities for the residents. On the other hand, demand for urban space is growing due to the rapid population growth. Therefore, some people believe that governments should knock down ancient dwellings that are occupying too much metropolitan space and build new modern structures. Nonetheless, in my opinion, history and progress can co-exist, thus, there is no need to destroy history. We can see those old buildings are not abandoned, they have a place in our lives. For instance, some of them turn into museums educating children and adults, others may become libraries or even educational institutions. To conclude, despite the growing demand for urban space, the importance of historic buildings should not be neglected. Governments should properly manage ancient structures.