Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few people think that the most important issue regarding the environment of their rime is the decline of particular species of plants and animals whereas others believe that apart from plants and animals, there are more problems worth noting. In my opinion, there are problems which are more important than plants and animals which are often overlooked by us. Firstly, the main reason behind deterioration of plants and animals is the problem in the entire food chain. There’s an increase in the number of herbivores like deers who often feed upon plants for their food and the carnivorous animals are decreasing day by day due to hunting. There aren’t enough carnivores like tigers or leopards who could feed upon the herbivores for food. As a result, herbivores increase drastically in their numbers affecting the number of plants and thereby the entire food chain. This causes decrease in both in number of plants and animals affecting the environment. Apart from the plants and animals, there are problems that are missed out by us and it affects the whole environment. These could be fluctuations in the climate temperatures because of global warming causing the glaciers to melt. Even human beings are affected due to hot climate causing various skin diseases and burns. Another crucial problem, if not noted soon may cause a bad effect on environment is the increase use of plastics for various purposes like food packaging etc. As we all know, plastic is non-biodegradable and if dumped into the ground with an intention of eliminating it, may cause soil pollution. This could affect the growth of the new plant species. To conclude, I believe that there are more crucial problems that are affecting the environment apart from loss of plants and animals. These are global warming causing rise in temperature and soil pollution affect the soil.