University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Higher discipline should be accessible to everyone, no matter what family background he comes from. I cannot entirely agree with this opinion; the reasons are as follows. Firstly, free access to universal fundamental education has put the government under heavy financial pressure, while it is a basic right for every citizen, as a taxpayer, to become literate with free primary education. By contrast, higher education, considered the last step in formal education, is also a privilege, for not all people need to be scholars. Besides, an efficient as well as sustainable higher education system, which is subsidized by abundant funding, is critical to a nation’s prosperity. Governments and university commissions pay a lot for offering quality education, which aims to cultivate talents like professors in high-tech fields. Thus, it is fair that university students pay for their own tuition fees to access education. The fees they have paid will also be used to upgrade the campus facilities and hire high-quality teaching faculties to maintain the quality of higher education, achieving a stable and balanced development of universities. Second, free tertiary education will possibly lead to the waste of educational resources. Beyond dispute, not all students are suitable for higher education, and some people can create more value on manual work. To charge tuition fees will allow high school graduates to think twice about their career plans, rather than go straightly but aimlessly to university. Some of them may choose to be wiremen and plumbers, honing their hands-on skills while helping to reduce the shortage of manual labour forces. And people who are eager to be degree-seekers can be admitted to university to further their education. Overall, higher education should be charged to reach a balance between the cultivation of talents and the utilization of social resources. Not offering free high education does not mean discrimination against the students from poor family backgrounds. Instead, they can easily apply for scholarships, bursaries, and loans to achieve their dreams in studies.