Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

School curriculum as an important part of children's academic life is always up for debate. Some individuals believe that due to the difficulty of some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy, they should rather be optional. I do not agree with these subjects being completely voluntary. To commence with, although mathematics and philosophy may seem complex and hard to deal with for some people, they help to create and improve logical thinking. Mathematics develops analytical and critical thinking, and a good maths scholar can be most valuable to society as they can contribute to their nation by becoming scientists and Engineers. Also, philosophy is the study of fundamentals of nature, reality, and existence, which helps individuals get a better grip of the reality of the world we live in and its issues. Thus, this is of utmost importance to teach children these skills. On the other hand, these subjects are composed of complex theories and may be hard to comprehend, especially when taught unprofessionally. Educational institutes should prepare courses for teachers on how to introduce these subjects to children more applicable and straightforward. If useful theories and lessons are taught in the first stages of education, schools will be able to make them optional for high schoolers as they are in the process of choosing their career path and can decide whether they need such subjects or not. Therefore it is best to mandate these subjects at first and then voluntary. In conclusion, as the subjects are practical for children's future. I believe that they should be compulsory at first and voluntary later on.