Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that environmental issues have increased massively in recent years. A stratum of society believe that extinction of certain wildlife creatures and plants is the primary problem; however, I would strongly argue that there are even more dangerous concerns such as pollution and greenhouse effect. On the one hand, those who believe extermination of some animals and trees is a major point of concern for the environment might argue that a majority of these species are vital for survival and maintenance of our ecosystem. For instance, fewer number of trees not only lead to lower oxygen index but also reduce the chances of rain in the monsoon season. In contrast, if we had saved these endangered species, it would have resulted in a healthier surrounding for all of us. On the other hand, I believe that pollution is the most threatening concern in recent times. The reason for this is good quality of air is necessary for survival of every human being. One clear example is, according to a recent report, spending one day outside in delhi is equivalent to smoking twenty cigarettes due to massively polluted air. Alternatively, if the air was purer in delhi, it would improve the health and well-being of local people, leading to an increase in life expectancy. In other words, every society should aim to decrease the pollution and leave a better environment for their children. In conclusion, although disappearance of specific creatures and trees can imbalance our ecosystem but it can hardly be denied that we need to focus on more pressing issues at hand such as pollution so that we can live a healthy life and leave behind a better habitat for the future generations.