More and more business as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

With the steady advance in communication technology, many companies and individuals are using it for their daily interaction. Modern communication systems have provided many positives such as flexibility in term of time and location, on the other hand, it has its own negatives such as distraction and losing human identity. This essay will discuss the pros and cons for using it as a replacement for face-to-face communication. One advantage for using information technology is the ability to concur geographic boundaries. For instance, a person sitting in Damascus can immediately contact his Chinese vendor via email or WhatsApp. The same apply on companies, specially when using online meeting tools for setting up a meeting with people from different geographic location. This reduce the overhead resulting of travel expenses and attendee’s time availability. As a result, there is no doubt that technology has bridged the geographic gap among people across the globe. On the other hand, it can be easy to get distracted specially when using online-chatting platform and all form of social media network. For instance, the most recent surveys have proofed that people who spend their time on WhatsApp and facebook …etc., are by far less efficient than the ones who don’t. another drawback is to lose the human factor during the conversation and relying more on emoji and stickers instead of eye-contact, this can be mis-understood easily and will damage human interactions by time. To conclude, although advance communication tools has provided more convenient method of interaction and closed the boundaries among people across the universe, there are numerous disadvantages as well specially when it is used extensively. the mode of communication needs to be picked carefully considering several factors such as distance and time.