Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Recently, thanks to medical technological advancements, the expected life of older people have improved significantly. Hence, there is a suggestion that they can continue to live full and active lives over age the of sixty-five. In my opinion, I believe that there are two ways that elderly people can contribute to society. To begin with, one of the main ways that older people can be beneficial is that they can help parents in upbringing their children. This is because many households have working parents, and they would feel safe if they leave their children with their grandparents in the morning. For example, in my country, many children enjoy staying with their grandparents because they share stories with them, and children always love to listen to stories. As a result, these children will more likely to learn valuable life lessons leading them to be good citizens in the future. Another benefit that society can gain from elderly people is by allowing them to guide the current workforce in their jobs. The reason for this is that older people gained a lot of experience and wisdom from their previous working time. For instance, if companies employ retired people part-time to mentor young employees, these young employees will gain worthwhile technical skills in their field and communication skills to effectively deal with others. With that in mind, these companies will have a better work environment leading to achieve remarkable success. In conclusion, since the heath of older people has improved, they can continue to live active lives after retirement. Therefore, they can benefit society by helping parents to raise their children as well as mentor the workforce to be productive and successful.