In some countries, owning a house rather than renting one is very important for people. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

The importance of having a personal house over a rented apartment has been a topic for debate in some nations. In this essay, I will be discussing the reason for this and also, the positive effects of owning a house. On the one hand, one of the reasons why I think people attach importance to personal houses is because it is a guaranteed shelter for the individual. Living in a rented flat cannot give a person the hundred per cent guarantee for shelter and that is because the owner of the building can decide to do whatever he wants with it anytime he wants to and as a result, ask the person to move out from the house making the tenant unsettled. For example, a friend of mine recently bought a compound and decided to renovate the building. Therefore, he issued a quit notice to all the residing tenants, as such, these residents were forced to obtain another place leaving them unsettled. On the other hand, the positive effect of owning a home is that it not only gives liberty to the owner but a feeling of satisfaction. Some people feel satisfied when they are in their own houses and also have the freedom to do however they wish with their property such as, renovations, making a garden and a playground for their children. For instance, my sister and her husband renovate their duplex almost all the time. Also, they put up a small demarcation outside the house for an animal farm that they would not have been able to do if they were renting the place. To conclude, although owning an apartment instead of renting is very important in some nations because it gives an individual guarantee for shelter, I believe that it is a positive situation because it gives owners a sense of satisfaction and liberty.