Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent, while others think that people have become independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While many people believe that with the economic progress and technology development the individuals have the ability to live an independent life, I support the view that people rely more on each other than decades ago, regardless of rural or urban areas. Compared with our ancestors, the majority of residents do not produce food, make clothes, or build houses for themselves anymore, since in modern society these living necessities are always provided by companies or individual professionals, and the cost of the products is normally much lower than the homemade stuff. Furthermore, there are always some products the non-professional person is not able to produce, such as computers, televisions or cars, so people do not have any other choice but have to rely on others as long as they need these high-tech products. In addition to that, individuals are very dependent on others in terms of service as well. For instance, health care, education or car maintenance, they cannot be carried out without professional training and obviously it is not making sense at all for the individuals to learn all of these skills in order to take care of themselves. Based on the reasons listed above, it is not very difficult to admit that people live a normal life with other’s support, or their lives would end up with less efficiency, low quality or high cost. In spite of the reasons why people cannot live totally independently in the aspect of material life, in some areas people do feel more independent. For example, citizens have the freedom to express their own ideas towards political or economic topics, and they do not necessarily follow the authorities’ opinions, which means that people ’s spiritual life can be very independent. Also, the creativity in art industries is protected well so artists can express their views in many various formats and they can follow their own hearts to pursue originality. In conclusion, people live and rely on each other in order to make the best use of society development, and at the same time, the individual can have independent thoughts in the spiritual of society.