A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It is often argued that the rise in living standard of a nation only benefit urban areas rather than rural. This development often lead to the problem of overpopulation of urban areas and homelessness, which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraph. Further, some solutions to eradicate this problem will be presented in the forthcoming paragraph. To begin with, as urban areas are developing at a faster pace in terms of education, infrastructure, medical facilities and job opportunities when compared to rural area, to attain those facilities, people from rural area migrate to urban area leading to the problem of overpopulation. For example: population of Melbourne CBD is 3.5 times higher than the regional area, as public migrate here to work, study and enjoy better shopping experience. In addition to that, the problem of overpopulation also leads to the problem of homelessness as a city has a limited capacity to accomodate people, and migration at a rapid pace make it difficult to hold up. There are two effective solutions to deal with this problem. One way to tackle this, government can try to take steps to develop rural area at the same pace by providing them equally good health and education system, this would decrease the number of migration, solving up the problem of overpopulation in urban area. Moreover, government can also grant some benefits (such as tax rebates, incentives) to the people working and studying in rural area. To exemplify: in China, people staying in rural area gets 25 - 30% consession on travelling card and grocery, this helps legal system of the country to control migration. In conclusion, rising standard of a country only benefitting urban areas, can be problematic to some extend as it can lead to the problem of extensive migration and shortage of houses but it can be tackled by taking some corrective action like forming rebate system for people staying in rural areas.