Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In many countries the world over, youngsters want to explore different places and to know about the real job field. Resultantly, students sometimes prefer to take a break for one year after completing their high school so as to travel or to do a job has come along with a number of upsides, together with downsides. However, I wholeheartedly deem that taking one year off before going to a university is more of a blow on the grounds that students cannot resume study life properly after travelling or working for a long time and they are more influenced by earning money rather than learning. One of the decisive drawbacks of not receiving tertiary education immediately after finishing secondary school is the chance of losing the track of life. To be more precise, if a student stays away from the educational life over a long period, it is next to impossible for him/her to get back to the study life easily. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 95% of the USA students, took study leave for traversing in 2009, could not achieve a satisfactory result in the first year of their university. Therefore, taking a break for work in exploring has detrimental impacts on later academic life. Another downside is that students cannot comprehend the necessity of tertiary education because of gaining opportunities to earn money with the high school certificate, leading their future in dire straits. In other words, if a juvenile got a chance to travel, earn and lead a life as per his whims, he would not be interested to go back to boring academic life, creating problems in the case of searching for a high salaried job in the future. To exemplify, researchers around the world have found that down to having opportunities to make money, many adolescents do not get back to university life. Thus students give more priority to money rather than acquiring knowledge. In conclusion, taking one year off between high school and university indubitably results in numerous negative impacts. Hence, the edges, if there is any, are far outweighed by disadvantages.