Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some commentators argue that students with the best scores deserve rewards, while others think that it is more significant to praise those who make great improvements. In my opinion, I totally agree that students who make strides in academic performance should be given awards. There are a number of reasons why those who get the highest grades should receive awards. Firstly, if pupils achieving the highest scores receive recognition for their capabilities, they will be motivated to put their effort into study. Moreover, this will create a highly competitive studying environment at school, seeing that every student desire to win prizes. Secondly, pupils who get the best scores deserve to have a chance to nurture their capabilities. For example, gifted students in Vietnam are selected for extra classes to take part in national competitions. However, I believe that it is more essential for pupils who make progress in studying to be recognized for their effort. The first benefit is that adopting this approach will follow the holistic principle of studying, which is to access the world of knowledge, not just to gain the best grades. As a result, some phenomena which occur when examinations approach, including anxiety and cheating, will be reduced. Another benefit is that students who are not very academically inclined will be motivated when teachers give encouragement to them, if they make great strides. Therefore, instead of competing with their top classmates, they only focus on their studies. In conclusion, although giving awards to students with the best academic results is advantageous to some extent, it seems to me that those who make progress in academic performance should get rewards.