Some people opine that entertainment or leisure activities should be subsidized by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, the question of whether the government should support and fund leisure activities has become a topic of growing debate. While some believe that public funding should be directed towards such activities, I firmly disagree, as government resources should prioritise essential sectors such as healthcare and education. This essay I will outline the reasons behind my opinion and provide relevant examples to support the argument. To begin with, there are serval advantages for supporting important sectors rather than funding entertainment activities, as the latter offers only short-term enjoyment and limited national benefits. First and foremost, in order for a country to become more advanced and stay way ahead of other countries in technological development, the government needs to prioritise educational development, as the new generation is responsible for building the country's future and ensuring a high quality of life. To exemplify this statement, investing in the education sector and improving the quality of educational system and teaching programs can take the country to a significantly higher level of progress, Japan is a clear example of this, a country that transformed itself into a global leader through long-term investment in education and human development. On the other hand, healthcare is far more important than any other sectors. Therefore, the government should consistently improve healthcare system, as citizens must be in a good state of well-being in order to enjoy life and its leisure activities. Moreover, neglecting healthcare in favour of subsidising leisure activities could lead to serious long-term consequences for society. In conclusion, entertainment is crucial part of a country's economy, but I believe that other sectors are far more important and should be prioritised first for the benefit of both individuals and society.