Some people think that lawbreakers should be put into prisons while others think that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your opinions?

It is believed that criminals should be put into jail while some people think that there are always better solutions to people who commit a crime. From my own perspectives, among 2 opinions, having alternative methods to deal with lawbreakers will be the best choice. On the one hand, there are several reasons why lawbreakers should be imprisoned. Firstly, they should be punished due to bad things they have done. Some criminals who commit serious crimes such as drug trafficking, murdering, … must be kept in prison because their illegal acts are very dangerous and may have negative effects on the society. Secondly, lawbreakers should be put into prisons to act as a deterrent. For instance, the government should put people who get involved in serious crimes into jail and apply zero tolerance policies so that other people will consider this a deterrent. Moreover, due to this way, there will be a significant decrease in the proportion of crime in the near future. On the other hand, there are also other alternatives. First of all,Some criminals who get involved in petty crimes shouldn’t be put into prison. They should be forced to do community labour or have non-custodial sentences. This will help them to have a chance to make a fresh start and they can reintegrate in society. Second of all, putting too many lawbreakers into prisons will affect the economy of a country. Some prisoners have to stay in prison for a long time so that the government has to provide them food, water, and clothes for free which contributes to the economic downturn of a country. In conclusion, the government should only send serious offender into jail and other misdemeanors should have other reasonable punishments