Some people think that all lawbreakers should be put into prison. While others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is argued that all criminals should be sent to jail. Meanwhile, a number of people believe that there are many other more effective measures to punish lawbreakers instead of imprisonment. In my opinion, I agree with punishments that are given by the government based on the seriousness of the offense. On the one hand, many people are in favor of the idea that any offenders should be imprisoned without exception. These people think that imprisonment would be a stringent measure acting as a strong deterrent against lawbreakers. As a matter of fact, being sent to jail is considered the full weight of the law that criminals confront. This is because prisoners have to spend part of their life or even lifelong time being deprived of their freedom. Moreover, during prison time, they are compelled to be nearly socially isolated from the community. As a result, citizens would live without fear when all criminals are kept away from society. On the other hand, I advocate the argument that other alternatives would be better solutions. In terms of petty crimes such as shoplifting and pickpocketing, heavy fines should be implemented on these offenders or they should be required to perform community services so that they acknowledge their crimes. Regarding juvenile delinquencies, these young criminals should be sent to reform schools where they will be re-educated in order not to embark on a life of crime and their mindsets will be changed. This also means the authority gives young people who get engaged in minor offenses more opportunities to make a fresh start then turn their lives around. If these punishments are put in practice, they will ease the burden on the government expenses on jails. In conclusion, albeit the edges of sending every offender into prison, I hold a belief that giving them opportunities to transform into good citizens is one of alternatives.