Violence among young people has increased dramatically over the past 50 years. This rise moves in tandem with the growth in violent media. Thus, the conclusion can be drawn that violent media is the main cause of violence among young people. Do you agree or disagree?

In the last 50 years, violent media has become an alarming issue. Some believe that this type of media has influenced young people greatly and caused the violence rate among this age range to increase significantly. I totally agree with this viewpoint. Analyzing both the inability of younger generations to differentiate a movie-based scenario and a real-life situation and how the media promotes aggressive action as a solution to one’s problems will show this. Firstly, kids could unintentionally copy actions from violent scenes that they see. The reason for this is that the media is such a consumer-driven industry, therefore, violent scenes are often made to appeal to those of all ages to capitalize on their attention. For example, a full-on fight scene action movie will be a better seller than any other non-action work. Unfortunately. This kind of movie usually aims at being as real as possible, which ultimately blurs the line between real life and the virtual world and leads kids to think that it is appropriate to do what a character does. Secondly, the media tends to promote violence as a way to resolve problems. The appeal of violent scenes is that they provide a satisfying response to common conflicts which are emotionally shared among people at young ages. For instance, Korean movies mostly bring up a fight scene as an instant strike back at bullying in schools. Such is an unwanted reaction which may worsen the situation and result in more fighting. From this, it becomes quite evident that the media, especially the violent ones, will encourage people to act more aggressively. In conclusion, violent media should be held accountable for how children’s behaviours get influenced and for creating distorted views on how children can use violence to cope with unwanted conflicts. Thus this is clear why the rate of young violent offenders is getting higher and higher. To ensure that this type of media stops affecting children negatively, governments should put more emphasis on content screening and put forward more age restrictions on sensitive ones.