Task 2: Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided as to whether the public libraries might be a waste of money after the advent of the same functions of computers. I completely disagree that these public places would be unworthy to be subsidized. There are several reasons why I would argue that computer technology can replace public libraries entirely. Firstly, the main duty of public libraries in communities is that this is a great place that provides safe, accessible, and free access to educational resource centres for every member throughout national countries, no matter their socioeconomic status. They can count on their libraries to provide them with the resources they need to succeed. Another reason is that public libraries can be the essential community hubs that serve as centres and free spaces for individuals spending time together or having meetings. On the other hand, although the computer technologies have comparable functions, it might have a negative effect on underserved people who want to approach these facilities but they do not have technological appliances. I believe that public libraries have provided a crucial service for poor and homeless people across the countries. For example, if the governments stopped investing and supporting this place, those who are impoverished might not be able to seek employment opportunities from internet access there. By doing this, everyone in wide societies will be easily accessible and convenient equally and also strengthen the communities. In conclusion, I would argue that sustainable public libraries have much more benefits than computers. They not only totally supply the needs of every member using free resources, but also give beneficial services for those who are disadvantaged people to access technologies.