In many professional sports, there is a increase in the number of athletes used banned substances to improve their proformance. what are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Many famous sports players are indulged in intake of banned drugs such as steroids to increase their stamina. The major causes behind this scenario are earning more money to get financially stronger and increased pressure from the media to win the competition. The possible remedies to cope with this issue are strict regulations on ground for players and making public aware about such cases through seminars. The primary extrapolate behind players those are taking drugs is that they want to gain name as well as fame by winning more and more competitions. They are using drugs like steroids to improve their body stamina so that they can be on ground for longer time against their opponent partner. If they win the competition they are able to get the huge amount of money prizes. Furthermore, another pivotal reason behind drug intake by sports personalities is that they have high level of mental pressure from the media to win the game. Players get mentally stressed due to which they take medications to perform better. For example, M.S Dhoni a famous personality of cricket was found taking steriod in 2015 during IPL match because all the public was supporting and stressing him to win. The most prominent solution to the issue is that there should be a strict code of conduct prepared for the players before they start playing. The executives should appoint professional doctors to get blood test of all the players and if any percentage of drugs are found in players blood then strict legal action should be taken such as, there should be a ban on their career for specific period. Moreover, some seminars should be conducted to make public and players aware about the consequences of taking drugs. For instance, sports committe of Chandigarh, India conducts drug awareness campaign every year since 2020 and its reports depict that due to this program the percentage of players addicted to drugs is reducing by 5-7% annually. To conclude, getting financially stronger and media pressure are major causes that promote drugs among sports people but strict rules by the government and awarerness through seminars could be the possible remedies to solve the issue.