Some people say that the only reason for learning language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Opinions are divided as to what intentions motivate people to learn a different language. It is been argued that people only learn a new language with a view of either launching a career abroad or going on a journey; however, some maintain that the reasons for studying a new language are innumerable. I subscribe to the theory that learning a foreign language is of the utmost importance on account of globalization, and it brings career benefits, along with cognitive ones. Learning a new language can have far-reaching positive impacts on people. Given the fact that the world has become a global village, and we have more and more contact with other people in it. Globalization, therefore, demands more foreign language. Not only does knowing another language expand the range of professional opportunities, but also increase your power to act as a citizen of the world. For instance, people who are bilingual in Chinese and their native language are also more employable in their home countries. In addition to this, the positive effects of a new language learning process on cognitive skills are another reason for mastering a new language. It has been shown that the acquisition of a new language improves people ’s memory abilities. In doing so, Alzheimer’s disease, for example, can be prevented. Ergo, this type of acquisition has profound implications for language learners’ personal and professional lives. Notwithstanding the aforementioned motivations, some people confine leaning a foreign language to travel and migration purposes, believing as long as they reside in their home countries, language skills are of little consequence. It is perfectly legitimate to travel to a country, travelers need to have knowledge of its language; otherwise, they would encounter hurdles. By way of example, in order for people to immigrate to the UK, they must have English language certificates. Only in this way can people accomplish this kind of objective. In conclusion, I take the view that in today’s world, the reasons for mastering language skills are manifold, with people fostering many skilled by dint of this. Granted, it is of paramount importance as far as immigration and travelling are concerned, but they are just two motivations of many.