Increasing the prices of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. to what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective?

It is true that in recent decades gas use has remarkably increased. In light of such growth in petrol usage, streets have become more crowded and the environment more polluted. To solve these issues, some think that charging extra for gasoline might help. In my view, increasing gas's cost is a positive step but also is employing alternatives like driving electric vehicles and car-pooling. Increasing the charges for gas can itself improve traffic movement and environmental conditions. This is simply because, with higher fares, there are far more reasons to save money by driving less and driving only for important or far trips. In Sweden for instance, gasoline is very expensive, so citizens tend to ride bicycles instead to save money. Such an approach has placed Sweden in the top 10 clean and pollution -free countries. If petrol is cheap and constantly within reach, our planet's future will keep being in danger and our communities will grow even more crowded. Therefore an increase in prices will not only refrain drivers from using more cars but also will help our environment stay clean. In addition to elevating fuel prices, other approaches such as electric motors and car-pooling can be a golden solution. Using wagons that function with electricity will spare the toxic gases like carbon monoxide, hence the severe pollution. Taking the U.S.A for example, they have started driving Elon Mask's Tesla electric vehicles and in some states like Illinois, pollution has greatly fallen. If it wasn't for that invention, humanity's rate of environmental damage would have been much greater. Alongside electric cars, car-pooling can also be an effective measure to reduce pollution and traffic jams by almost half. Car-pooling is when a group of people have similar destinations so they share one car and its gas fare instead of each one of them driving his own. Such measure encourages people as it's cost-saving and more comfortable. In Egypt for example, for the sake of the streets and environment, a mobile application called "ride together" has been recently launched to incentivize people to drive fewer cars by sharing theirs. Pollution and traffic jams can, not only harm us in the short term by decreasing our quality of life but also in the long term by leaving our planet unfit for future generations. This is why a combined effort in reducing pollution by using less petrol through sharing cars and driving electrical ones, will surely be effective. In conclusion, although automobiles are very important nowadays, I strongly agree that their usage should be limited. With higher fuel fees, car owners will be encouraged to drive non-petrol non-polluting cars and share rides, which will altogether lead to a decline in transport jams and environmental pollution.