The crime rate in urban areas is usually much higher than in rural areas. Why is this? What can be done to address the problem of crime?

In recent times, it has been evidently witnessed that there is a surge in the crime rate in cities, in contrast to countryside areas. There are several reasons for this and to ameliorate the issue certain steps can be taken in this direction which will be explicated in this essay. The first and foremost reason for the surge in criminal activities is the soaring population. In other words, with the rise in the number of people in, cities there will be a hike in the unemployment rate which cannot be seen in the case of underdeveloped places. Indeed, individuals of developed regions have a desire to live an opulent lifestyle, but due to work constrain they opt for illicit ways to earn money such as theft, burglaries, murder and many more to mention. Whereas residents of rural regions believe in sober living. For example, data obtained from police headquarter reveals that 78% of crimes are committed by youngsters to full fil luxurious desires of their life partner. Thus, a keenness to live a luxurious lifestyle, as well as a lack of job opportunities, add fuel to the fire. To curb the issue, there should be an implementation of stringent laws so that it would create fear in the mind of the person prior to the commencement of any sort of heinous crime. Moreover, there should be a restraint on the population of immigrants as the majority of the urban population comprises immigrants. Apart from this, adjacent areas of cities can be developed to generate employment opportunities. For instance, the areas in the vicinity of Noida are developed to cater for the needs of the growing population eventually, causes a decline in the crime rate. Therefore, the formation and implementation of rules and extension of cities are some of the remedies to mitigate the problem. In compendium, to reduce the unlawful act norms should be implemented and job opportunities should be created by the government to reduce the unemployment ratio.