City and local governments should provide community-wide free Wi-Fi. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years more and more people have been using smartphones to communicate and laptops to work outside of the office. Some people may think that community-wide Wi-Fi will be beneficial for everyone and should be provided for free by municipal governments, whereas others may think tax money should not be spent on Wi-Fi. I personally believe that it is beneficial for local governments to provide community-wide Wi-Fi, if such a measure is implemented wisely. First of all, Wi-Fi has become part of the basic infrastructure in today’s world. Today, it is very common for people to use smartphones all the time to communicate online or to carry laptops to a café or a park to work or study. They need their phones and PCs to be connected to the Internet, and in that sense, Wi-Fi serves as the infrastructure in the same way as roads or electricity does. Moreover, free Wi-Fi is convenient not only for local people, but also for people from out of town or foreign countries. According to some statistics, many foreigners who come to Japan, my country, find the country’s poor Wi-Fi availability very inconvenient. I wish we had free Wi-Fi nationwide and could make their stay in Japan more pleasant. On the other hand, some may think community-wide free Wi-Fi might not be a good idea. Installing a network of high-speed Wi-Fi will cost a great deal of money. People who already have access to the Internet at home may say, “why use our tax money to pay for others?” However, if people coming from out of town find staying in the community comfortable because of easy access to the Internet, it will benefit businesses there and, in the end, the whole community. In sum, Wi-Fi can be considered an integral part of the infrastructure and if communities provide it for free, it will benefit the local community. Therefore, the upsides of such a policy will outweigh the downsides.