Nowadays more and more older people compete with younger people for the same jobs. What can be the reasons for this? What would you suggest as a solution?

In order to survive decently in this dog-eat-dog world, all ages people have to do work. Resultantly, a large number of advanced ages people in this day and age are applying for the same position as younger ones. This is because, it is troublesome for older people to find a job so as to earn money and in most organizations, there is no specific category job for senior citizens. I, nonetheless, deem that however abysmal the situation is, such a menacing inclination may be tackled by governments’ incentive programmes and changing corporate cultures. The predominant reason for applying for the same job that youngsters apply for is the strong desire to do any job with a view to earning money and leading life without taking help from relatives. To be more precise, inasmuch as older people ’s jobs are not available in most of the firms, they try to take chances by applying in the starting positions. Another prevalent cause is that when companies give job adverts, there remains no specific job category for the retired or senior citizens. Even sometimes, the maximum age limit is not mentioned, leading all ages people to apply for the same job. To exemplify, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that every year 80% of CVs go to dustbins because of not specific criteria mentioned in the job advertisements. To reverse this undesirable state of affairs, governments ought to wage effective incentive programmes so that older people do not have to do jobs in order to lead their remaining life peacefully. To cite an example, in Japan, the government’s special programme for senior citizens leads to lowering the competitiveness of the country’s job market. This appalling situation can also be contained by creating specific job opportunities for older people so that they do not have to compete with juveniles. If advanced ages people got their age-related jobs easily, they would not apply for the jobs of starters. In conclusion, so as to find a job anyhow and lack of available jobs, older people apply to any position, which can be mitigated by taking proper steps by governments and firms.