Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts they reach their decision about case.

By the laws of British and Australia, a jury is forbidden to access the previous criminal documents of the defendant. Some people believe that defendants should have the right to protect themselves from being accused of the crime. However, many people disagree with this action and suggest that a jury should be able to access all past data. I totally agree with this group of people that a jury should consider all documents of the defendant before making a decision. To support my statement, in order to make an effective decision for punishing someone, we should study in-depth the background of the particular person, such as personality, motivation and etc. Therefore, it is crucial to perceive their criminal history. For instance, a person who have continuously made many cases, there is a possibility that this person will create a case again and again without active punishment. By the practice of inaccessibility of the previous criminal data, the juries will not have a chance to consider the previous action of the criminal which might affect the result of the trial. It is probably that the criminal would receive too light punishment that they should have been punished. On the other hand, many people suggest that the laws should provide equality right for the criminals that they should be considered as innocent and the juries are not able to use past crimes for making a decision. I agree that the criminal should have the right to defend themselves,,, however providing all backgrounds of the criminals is also a great way to prove whether they are truly innocent or not. In conclusion, I disagree with the practice that juries are not allowed to reach past criminal documents. Moreover, I suggest that juries need to access all backgrounds of the defendant in order to provide a considerable decision.