In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

With the development of technology, it is now possible for people to study the history of their ancestors. There are several rationales that encourage modern citizens to conduct this research. In my perspective, I assume that this may be a breakthrough movement of human beings to identify their roots. In this essay, I shall put forth some ideas to exemplify this positive development with some lucid examples. At first, tracing back the history of a family can aid descendants in understanding thoroughly their ancestors as well as locate distant relatives. For instance, studying the root of family members may not only assist historians in identifying more information on the history of their countries as well as help royal members locate their distant intimates. As a result, the research may play a pivotal role in maintaining the root of royal families to consecutive generations. Additionally, in big families with hundred of members, research on the family history may be vital to draw the family tree, which is a useful graph that helps younger generations acknowledge their ancestors and roots. On the other hand, it is not always possible for normal inhabitants to conduct this type of study as not all people can afford it. In fact, one often needs to spend an abundant amount of money to hire historian specialists and experienced researchers to conduct this type of research. Moreover, it often takes a lot of time and resources and not many families are patient to wait for the results. In addition to this, not all the results can bring positive results to one family and may affect one's life. For example, if an individual is found to be closely connected to the royal family, his daily life may be influenced and disturbed by curious journalists who want to conduct interviews and investigate his personal life. In conclusion, while I believe that learning the history of a family may bring valuable information that helps offspring understand thoroughly their roots, it is also worth considering the challenges that it may bring.