Employees sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, maintaining boundaries in the workplace has become a hot topic everywhere. As is experienced in job interviews, some managers ask job applicants about their private backgrounds like their hobbies and preferences, and also their marital status. While some individuals believe that this type of data could become handy, others think quite the opposite. I personally agree with the first opinion. In this essay, the debate will be investigated. The supporters of the fact that enquiring employees about their personal data is completely normal and beneficial as well, demonstrate some significant logic. One notable result of knowing this information about the staff is that employers get to build a more efficient relationship with their workforce which will end up in a more functional workplace. As an example, having known the personal interests of the staff, some companies assign their workers suitable tasks regarding their emotional and physical capabilities in order to maximize the efficiency of the outcomes. On top of that, when the employees are asked about their personal preferences, it gives them a sense of being cared about which will result in having a more loyal workforce. On the other hand, the opponents of this attitude note some debatable facts. The most significant reason for their disagreement is that asking people about their private matters is somehow a violation of privacy. For instance, some individuals, especially women, do not like to share whether they are single or not, and it is their right not to answer such questions. In addition, some data might even not be relevant and crucial enough to be shared. All in all, although digging into the personal information of the staff may sometimes be unpleasant in some cases, the merits of this behaviour outweigh the demerits. From my point of view, if answering these types of questions is optional, it is totally all right for employers to ask such questions.