Some people think that you can only learn about the cultures of different places by traveling there. Other people think that you can learn just as much about these places from reading books and watching travel documentaries about them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Travelling is not only sightseeing some wonderful places, but also we can experience the different cultures. Nowadays, without visiting by oneself, everyone is available to learn the others’ traditions by searching on the internet or reading books. This essay will discuss both views about two styles of studying diverse cultures with an appropriate opinion. Since our world has long been established, some civilizations are still kept and opened for visitors to explore. However, civilization does not mean just places, but it can refer to languages, societies, traditions and more, which is considered a motivated inspiration for people to travel. Moreover, it is indeed that exploring areas could bring the visitor all the five senses: hearing, seeing, feeling, smelling, and tasting. For instance, The Great Wall of China, one of the most attractive destinations, could make travelers surprised and tend to come up with many questions: why did the Chinese decide to construct, what is it for, or how did they build such a very long wall. Thus, spending time exploring can be considered an effective way to see our world wider. Although being tourists could provide many experiences, these perceptions can also be gained from sources such as magazines, television, and radio. As today’s technology has been much developed, laying on a sofa and watching a documentary is able to receive the feeling of being abroad as well. Furthermore, some program hosts even provide the viewers accurate and deep information. Therefore, by listening or watching someone else travel can also give the audience further knowledge without going for real. In conclusion, informing by using both ways can also be done, but in different perspectives. In my opinion, I prefer visiting locations because I have to spend myself many hours at the particular destination, unlike watching a thirty-minute show.