In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in the water, so many people think they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The polluting effects of plastic are often featured in the news these days. We have realised how damaging plastic can be and there is a strong public reaction in favour of reducing plastic waste. Banning plastic bags would be one way of dealing with the problem. However, in my opinion there are other, more effective, strategies that could be implemented, targeting not only consumers but also the manufacturers and retailers of plastic products. The main problem with plastic bags is that they take many years to decompose and are often only used only once for convenience and then discarded, ending up in rivers and seas where they cause particular harm to marine creatures such as whales and turtles. The obvious response might be to ban plastic bags. If shops stopped supplying them, customers would be forced to re-use existing bags or find other ways of carrying their shopping. This has had a great deal of success in many countries. But this ban should extend to all plastic which is used in packaging, much of which is unnecessary. Fruits and vegetables, for example, have their own natural covering and do not need a further layer of plastic. While banning plastic bags would be beneficial, this measure would not be enough to solve the problem. People also need educating about littering and recycling in general. Many people still do not dispose of plastic properly and as a result, even if less plastic is produced, much of what is in existence finds its way into the natural environment. Heavy fines should be introduced for those who do not respect the laws regarding the protection of the environment. In conclusion, the required approach should be to both limit the production and use of plastic and also to ensure that people understand the impact that it can have on the environment if plastic is not correctly managed.