Each country censors the media in one way or the other. What are the pros and cons of censorship in the media?

In this 21st century, with the stride of, media there is the formation of a governing body known as the censor board that has a stringent hold on means of mass communication. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this which will be explicated further. Firstly, the main merit of censorship is that material broadcasted on several platforms such as television, internet, radio is primarily reviewed by the committee. In other words, it ensures the quality of content prior to its release. As a result of this, adult content or misleading information is eliminated from the data. Moreover, the censor committee ensures that facts and figures broadcasted should not engross a particular caste or religion. For instance, a film based on queen Padmavati which might lead to disturbance of tranquillity due to some inaccurate information in several states of India was sorted by this body. Thus, the role of censorship is pivotal in maintaining peace and harmony among citizens. On the contrary, the downside is that media do not have complete freedom to raise their voice against social menaces. Indeed, most of the cases of misdeeds are executed by influential people. Ergo, to remain in the good books of the public, the reality is cut sort by this body or in either way complete information is not shown. Another negative side is that the biasness of media in today’s scenario is evidently witnessed. To illustrate, the evidence supporting the Panorama scam is put down by media in a smarter way to save the renowned celebrities, politicians, business tycoons. Hence, on the darker,side the independence of media remains in the fist of some people. In compendium, standard assurance, as well as maintenance of communal harmony, is one of the significant benefits while irrefutable facts are hidden or cut sort which is somewhere ethically inappropriate.