Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on food and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think that these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, many have argued whether governments' implementation of special taxes on consumable products with high levels of sugar is a necessary development or not. Two sides emerged: those who agree with it and those who oppose it. Both parties present solid arguments, which will be discussed below and attached with a personal opinion. On one hand, those who praise the tax movement as a good idea are likely to originate from a country that exhibits a radical sugar problem. They see this as a solution to fix unhealthy habits and overweight individuals, believing that this will potentially enhance the lives of citizens. Countries like America, for instance, suffer from high sugar consumption, which leads to an increase in obesity in highly populated areas. With the tax reform, the number of disgusting intake will likely shrink, therefore, adopting a healthier outlook for the people. In contrast, those who oppose the tax reform, say that this is an attack on an individual's freedom. They argue that every person has rights and that they are allowed to buy and consume as much as they desire. Consequently, by limiting that privilege, there could be damaging consequences. For example, a sudden change like this could cause an uproar in many places; riots will ensue and protesters will take their hysteria to the streets. In conclusion, I personally believe that this is a positive implementation because it will shape a better image for people and for nations. However, the process should be steadily progressive; starting with smaller regulations before moving onto the primary goal of taxing. It is a messy development, but one that yields greater results.