Nowadays many people have an unhealthy diet and do not exercise regularly. What are the reasons behind this trend? How can we encourage these people to live a healthy lifestyle?

The majority of the people these days follow a poor diet and do not participate in physical activities. There are several factors behind this including giving more priority to work and this can be overcome by including healthy habits slowly in their lifestyle. To begin with, people these days do not have enough time to prepare their meals or exercise. Individuals usually work over time or they lack the energy, especially at the end of the day to make their food. This is the main reason why people end up eating ready-made meals, which are highly processed and rich in sugar and salt. They tend to buy fast or junk food items to satisfy their hunger. Additionally, if they have sedentary tasks, they lack physical activity too. They prioritise their work over health. Some people work for 8 plus hours a day, just sitting on their desktops. Hence, a sedentary lifestyle and shortage of time contributes to poor diet habits  To counter this issue, individuals should learn to manage their time so that they can cook their meals. They should avoid indulging in overtime work culture and should prioritise their health over jobs. They should try to include simple exercises like walking or cycling 4-5 times a week. Individuals should try to move for at least 3-5 minutes if they have desktop jobs. Thus, by making small changes in their daily routine, they can have a profound effect on their overall fitness. To conclude, clean eating habits have definitely been deteriorating over the years due to more importance being given to the jobs. But citizens should realize the importance of a healthy lifestyle and should try to incorporate it gradually.