Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

In this contemporary era, people are gaining weight at a catastrophic rate. As a result, they are more obese than before. Apparently, Modernization and unhealthy eating habits are to be blamed for this phenomenon. However, it begets the harrowing upshot in society. Fundamentally, there are predominant factors that eventually trigger this event. To begin with, a tremendous increase in the consumption of ready to eat fatty meals so-called junk food can be observed in the modern man. This is because of the increase in the cut-throat competition in which an individual devotes most of his time to work; leads to no time to make or prepare his meal. Therefore, he leans towards purchasing quick food. To illustrate this notion, It has been observed in Europe that more than half of the population is dependent on fast food because of its easy availability. Another reason for the uncalled incline in obesity would be the sedentary lifestyle since with the global modernization, individuals are more dwelled upon using automobiles and modern gizmos which aid in his work. Moreover, today job does not demand physical exertion,and hence people tend to sit on their chairs and laptops to their work. Thus it increases their weight. Nevertheless, this trend entails detrimental effects on our bodies. Chiefly, an increased body weight attracts numerous health issues such as hypertension, diabetes and heart disease; it poses a potential threat to our lives which certainly causes early mortality in some countries as well. Take the UK as an example where a more than twofold rise in early deaths has been witnessed in the last two decades due to the illness caused by obesity. Furthermore, heavy individuals fall prey to laziness and get tired rather easily. This is because of the decreased metabolic rate of their body which makes them feel unmotivated and tired all the time. In conclusion, indeed the world is facing a rapid spread of non-communicable epidemic disease of being obese due to the drastic change in the consumption of fast food and lazy lifestyle. Thereby, it raises a plethora of new illnesses which can be witnessed in today's world.