IN SOME CULTURES, CHILDREN ARE OFTEN TOLD THEY CAN ACHIEVE ANYTHING IF THEY TRY HARD ENOUGH. WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF GIVING CHILDREN THIS MESSAGE?

Culture is a way of life of a given people or community, which can be in terms of their beliefs and traditions of doing things. Children who grew up in a culture where they are informed that all things are achievable if they work diligently, will develop strong-willed mindset and are often Confident. A child whose culture encourages them to be Strong-willed, are more focused. They veer towards being self motivated and navigate towards desired course with less supervision, see challenge as an adventure -" take the bull by the horns". However, they could be arrogant and opinion dominating. Confidence is a state of being clear-headed. A child's confidence is built over time by the kind of words, and motivation that surrounds them. These can have both internal and external effect on their confidence level. It's agreeable that guilding building a child through rights from wrongs aid confidence in decision making; it encourages self confident in a world that's challenging. In as much as confidence is a survival mechanism in today's world, however over-confident pose as a disadvantage because it makes one believe they know it all even when they don't which leads less effort on task and poor performance. In summary, resilience and confidence when adequately communicated or thought to our kids helps us achieve the right amount of advantage to it's disadvantage.