Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate regarding the people that choose to be freelancers instead of pursuing a secure job within a company, the reasons why people choose this life over the other have a strong relationship with the new technological and accelerated world that we are currently living on. The advantages of being self-employed sometimes outweigh the disadvantages, however, freelancers must be disciplined and resilient in order to achieve their goals and live a successful life. First and foremost, one of the main pleasures of freelancers is the possibility of being financially independent and create their own schedule so they can enjoy their free time but, Why do young people have the major preference in becoming freelancers?. The main reason why people in their twenties or early thirties choose this life is that there is an increasing lack of opportunities in the labor market caused by a large number of older employees in the same positions. Furthermore, as a 23-year-old recent graduate, I can say that modern generations are characterized for having bigger and more aspirational goals than previous generations, these two conditions are difficult to achieve in traditional based companies. Moreover, the free time that a freelancer job provides, exceeds the main disadvantage of being self-employed, the enormous discipline, and the instability that someone may encounter while starting this new lifestyle. It seems to be a common problem among freelancers that the instability experienced at the beginning is complicated, you do not have a constant entrance of money every month so you must have a budget for everything. Additionally, isolation is sometimes complicated to overcome, especially if a person is starting a startup. Drawing from personal experienced, when I decided to enter the freelance world with web development, I realized that I spent more time working than when I was working for someone else, it is true that the payments were higher and I managed my time according to my personal needs, however, even though I enjoyed my job more than previously, I can assure you that it was a really isolated experienced. I thought that, since I was working for myself and for my personal goals, I had to be one hundred percent enroll in my job and everything else was a waste of time. In conclusion, nowadays people are choosing to have a freelance job because of the main advantages like, being economically independent or having your own schedule so you can arrange your times at your liking, however, plenty of those that make incursions into the self-employment world failed because of the earlier mentioned reasons, the isolation, and the strong discipline and resiliency a person must have in order to succeed in this new lifestyle. In my personal opinion, self-employment advantages outweigh the drawbacks but you must have a determined mindset in order to achieve your goals.