sychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

More than one-tenth of the global population suffers from some sort of psychological issues and yet mental illness gets far less priority than it deserves. The minor psychological topics are often ignored by the family while severe cases are inappropriately treated only to tag them as madmen. There is no denying that mental illness, compared to physical diseases, does not get proper care and acceptance from society all around the world. To begin with, the number of general hospitals and the specialist doctors and nurses devoted to treating diseases of our body is overwhelmingly higher than the healthcare centre and staffs allocated for mental complexities. Someone just needs to walk a few blocks to notice a hospital in any city. However, this is not the case for clinics that deal with patients’ mental affairs. This is huge discrimination when World Health Organization clearly outlines the number of patients who need psychotherapists, mental support and treatment for their psychological intricacies. Moreover, social views towards a physically sick child are different from an autistic child. When the parents openly discuss the sickness of the former one, the latter one tries to hide their children from being mistreated. This raises a serious question of moral integrity and social norm towards people who need special care. Due to the astigmatism of our social and healthcare system, we have so many cases of mental issues which go untreated. When each county increases its budget to research for deadly diseases, there is scarcely any budget allocation for preventing suicides. For instance, the USA allocate a lion share of its budget for the healthcare sector, but there is no separate allocation for preventing self-destruction, as this is not considered an illness at all. To conclude, the time has come for us to change the old dogma about psychological problems and understand that proper treatment for psychosocial patients is as much important as treating physically ill people.