Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.?

Urban areas are densely populated which leads to numerous problems. Many countries experience detrimental effects due to the increasing population. This essay will discuss any two such effects and explore possible ways to improve the situation. Urban areas are mostly industrialised and are the main commute area in the city. One of the first problems is air pollution. The quality of air is deteriorating due to the emission of harmful gases from industries and vehicles. As people are breathing in the toxic air on a daily basis, it is very much affecting their health and make citizens sick because of this.Another problem that needs to be considered is, nowadays the rate of pandemic spread is faster in urban areas which imposes a serious issue of almost half the population getting affected. For instance, The coronavirus spread was 50 times faster in urban cities like Chennai, Delhi and Mumbai. A possible solution to air pollution is by cutting down the emissions from primary sources such as industries and vehicles. Government should allocate a substantial amount of resources and capital in the attempt to alleviate air pollution. Imposing strict laws for the factories and the vehicle owners to reduce the toxicity in the air are added advantages. For example, the Ministry of Delhi has taken tremendous efforts to control air pollution by imposing strict laws on the usage of vehicles. On the other hand, the epidemic widespread of diseases can be controlled by avoiding overcrowding in public places like malls, temples, theatres etc.., In conclusion, overpopulation leads to detrimental effects on public health and the environment. Nevertheless, these problems can be tackled with the support of the government.