Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

Farming is an essential industry in all nations, however modern generations don’t seem interested in this occupation. This is likely because working on a farm is an extremely physically demanding job. However, governments might be able to encourage young people to become farmers by creating financial incentives. The main reason that farming is losing popularity among youth today is the physical demands of the work. Firstly, this type of work takes place outdoors where the weather can be extreme. Temperatures can get to 40 degrees in summer and below zero in winter, but farmers must keep working. Secondly, being a farmer requires a huge amount of physical fitness. Farmers should be able to carry heavy objects and do repetitive movements with strength for hours every day. Simply put, young people today have easier jobs to choose from. This is probably the reason why they are hesitant to work in agriculture. There are some financial incentives that might bring more popularity among the younger. The first one is scholarships where students who do not know what they want, or people who do not have enough money to pay a student loan could see this scholarship as an opportunity to find a better job. Another financial incentive is a tax deduction to buy new farms. Therefore, will be more people interest in the farm business and be able to create more opportunities for the youth generation. With more money, farmers could implement more automation in the fields. The young generation is more qualified to deal with technology than old farmers. To conclude, although the youngest people are uncertain to become farmers, farms are still a crucial service for every nation. The daily work is hard, but with some financial incentives this scenario could change, and more people will be motivated to follow this path.