In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this solution and give your own opinion.

Throughout the globe, medical care services have improved significantly. As a consequence, the life expectancy of older people has increased around the world. In my opinion, while there are some drawbacks of this development, I believe that the positives are more beneficial. One obvious issue with increasing an increasing age population is that it might cause an enormous burden on the medical sector. This is because since people are expected to live longer, they might be diagnosed with age-related diseases such as diabetes. As a result, the medical sector might not be able to provide treatment for everyone especially in times of a pandemic. A further downside is that living longer might cause negative effects on mental health. To illustrate, if an older person is unable to do many of the activities that they used to do before, they might be feeling upset and may lead to developing depression. Having said that, one obvious benefit that older people can bring is that they can help upbringing children. The reason for this is that older people had gained a valuable experience from their lives, and they can transfer their wisdom to children. For example, many parents are currently working, and they leave their children with their grandparents to look after them. Thus, these children can learn a lot from the stories shared by their grandparents as well as seek their advice in different situations. Therefore, those children are more likely to be good citizens in the future. What is more, retired people today are enjoying healthier life more than ever. In other words, they enjoyed their lives as youths, and thanks to family care and better medical services, they can find motivation and energy to have an active lifestyle. In conclusion, Weighing up both sides of the argument again, although there are a number of issues that older ages brings – predominately health issues- the benefits it brings to the family and society as a whole are impossible to ignore.