Many people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that it has minor influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Is a person's behaviour determined by their native country? Most people are of the notion that the culture of one's nation has an impact on behaviour, while others think it does not have much significance. This essay shall discuss both views and finally give the writer's opinion. On the one hand, people who believe that a person's values are affected by their native place think so because they are born and brought up following certain customs and traditions and they tend to carry these rituals even if they are away from their country. For example, Arab ladies continue to wear scarves around their heads even after they move to western countries thus defining themselves as belonging to a certain country. On the other hand, due to globalisation, there has been a blending of cultures throughout the world, thus eliminating traditional barriers. Hence, individuals no longer strictly follow the customs of their original nation. For instance, Christmas is celebrated throughout the world irrespective of a nation's predominant religion. Hence, the national background of a person will not define his or her culture. To conclude, while both points of view have considerable backing in practices that are followed by individuals and societies, I am of the opinion that no matter where one lives, social ethics and norms will not be defined by their place of birth. This is because globalisation has broadened their perspectives about what is essential for a productive and fulfilling life in the place that they are living in, currently.